Amish Baked Chicken

Extraordinary Amish Baked Chicken
Extraordinary Amish Baked Chicken

This is my NEW “Go To” recipe for chicken. We all love this chicken. It is juicy, flavorful, pretty simple, and Finger-Lickin’ good!

I have made it for company (so you know it’s good) and it never fails to impress.

Now I am going to give a disclaimer on this recipe: I bake it on a stone with sides (Pampered Chef: Bar Pan) so if you do not have a stone I have no idea how this chicken will turn out! For me, the skin is crunchy and flavorful and the chicken meat is juicy and tender. If you bake it in a pan or some other way please leave me a comment and let me know how it turns out.

Amish Baked Chicken (Original Recipe)

1/2 cup flour
1/2 Tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons onion powder
2 teaspoons garlic powder
6 bone-in chicken thighs
3 bone-in chicken breasts

In a shallow pie pan combine flour and spices. Blend well!

Dredge chicken in flour mixture and then place on baking stone skin side down. I use two stones, one for the thighs and one for breasts.

Bake at 375 degrees for 45 to 60 minutes or until chicken is cooked through (mine always takes the whole 60 minutes). Flip chicken once, half way through cooking.

I do not work for nor do I sell Pampered Chef. I just love their stones and use them every single day!

13 thoughts on “Amish Baked Chicken

  1. I think that a pizza stone placed on a cookie sheet would work just fine. I have done that with my sausage roll (I should really post that recipe too) and it works great. I have NEVER cooked with cast iron before (I sure would love to try) so please if you do it that way let me know how it turns out!

    Like

  2. Just wondering, would a pizza stone on a cookie sheet work? It sounds like it might be worth trying anyway. Maybe a large cast iron pan preheated in oven? May try to play with these ideas. Any advice you have would be great. It really does look wonderful. Debharris723@comcast.net

    Like

  3. Mikeline,
    I actually have a baking stone with sides. It is called a bar pan and is almost like a cookie sheet. I will edit the post to include this information. You could NOT bake this chicken on a pizza stone, your oven would be a MESS!
    Thank you so much for your comment!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

