Extraordinary Cherry Chip Cupcakes with Cherry Cream Cheese Frosting

So I made cupcakes!

Extraordinary Cherry Chip Cupcakes with Cherry Cream Cheese Frosting
Extraordinary Cherry Chip Cupcakes with Cherry Cream Cheese Frosting

I love cupcakes! I love to look at them (my kitchen is cupcakes) and I love to eat them!

My daughter and I say that we are “Cupcake Girls”. You know the girls who wear bows as big as their heads and love lace and ruffles.

I decided to not make the entire cupcake + frosting from scratch so I opted to use a box cake mix that I “dressed up” to make it taste homemade.

Perfect Cupcake Using a Mix (original recipe)

1 box Any Flavor Cake Mix (I used Cherry Chip)
3 large eggs
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup water

Melt the butter. Mix cake mix, eggs, water, and melted butter in a large bowl. Mix on low for 1 minute and then mix on high for 1 minute. The batter should be thick and creamy!
Fill cupcake paper (or just spay the muffin tins and bake right in the pan).
Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.
Cool before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting (original recipe)

6 tablespoons butter, softened
1 8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
4 cups (1-pound box) confectioners sugar
1 – 2 tablespoons milk (enough to make a spreadable frosting)

Because I made cherry cupcakes I wanted a cherry frosting so I added chopped up bits of Maraschino cherries to the frosting and instead of milk I used the juice from the jar of cherries. OH MY WORD! DELICIOUS!

Beat together the butter and the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat well.
Add the milk a little at a time, until the frosting is spreadable.
Frost cupcakes!

Almost got the decorating down!
Almost got the decorating down!

Tell Me What You Think

